Whole-Grain Pancake and Waffle Recipe

This is my favorite pancake and waffle recipe ever.  For a while growing up I liked to make breakfast for my (large) family and got really good(In my memory, haha.  My sibs might disagree.) at making pancakes without any recipe.  Then I went a few years without doing that and when I tried to make pancakes without a recipe for me and my husband I had some problems.  I usually ended up with pancakes that didn’t behave quite like I wanted them to(nicely browned, fluffy, light, that nice webby look to the top) and sometimes ended up with massive amounts of batter from my memories of eyeballing ingredients for pancakes for 10, not 2.

Finally after a few flubs I gave up and went recipe hunting and, after trying multiple recipes, came up with this combination.  It works equally well for pancakes or waffles and readily accepts a sprinkle of blueberries or chocolate chips before flipping.  You can serve it topped with butter, syrup, jam, fresh fruit, whipped cream or anything else you can dream up.  This morning we topped our waffles with butter, warmed canned peaches and peach syrup, and a tiny dab of whipped cream that I had in the fridge.  A side of bacon completed the decadence.

Waffles2

 

Whole-Grain Pancakes or Waffles

1 1/2 C. whole grain flour.  I use spelt.  Whole wheat works just as well.

1/2 C. white flour.  I have used fully spelt or whole wheat and they turn out great.

4 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp baking powder

2 tsp salt

3 Tbsp wheat germ

3 Tbsp ground flax seed

2 eggs

2 C. milk, maybe a bit more if the batter is too thick

1 Tbsp vinegar

4 Tbsp oil or melted butter

Waffles1

Puffed batter.

Mix together the milk and vinegar in a small bowl and let that sit while you whisk together all the dry ingredients in a larger bowl.  This sours the milk just a little bit and creates extra bubbly action.  Then whisk the eggs and oil/butter into the milk mixture.  Add the liquids to the dry ingredients and stir until combined.  Batter will puff up a bit in between pouring or stirring.  I usually stir it down the first time to make it easier to pour or spoon, but subsequent rises will be smaller and I leave it alone to keep as many bubbles in the batter as possible.

For pancakes pour by the half cup onto a heated, lightly greased pancake griddle and sprinkle with any blueberries/chocolate chips/etc you are wanting to add.  Flip when bubbly.  Give them a minute or so until they aren’t jiggly in the middle anymore.  Pull off, top deliciously and eat them hot!

For waffles the amount of batter varies by the size of the waffle iron.  Mine makes two 4in square waffles and I put in about 3/4 C. of batter total.  As always, lightly grease your iron.  This is easier when the iron is cold, unless you have a cooking spray.  If you’re adding blueberries then spray between each batch.  I wait until my waffle iron gives me the ready light, but again, I’m sure irons vary.  Top them up and enjoy!

Delicious!

Delicious!

One thought on “Whole-Grain Pancake and Waffle Recipe

Let me know what you think!

