Five Minute Friday: Join

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for this writing prompt.  The rules are on her blog if you want to play along!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am an introvert. Joining in is hard for me. It is actually scary for me a lot of the time. I much prefer the outskirts words like observe, watch, absorb. I suppose that some people would add the word wallflower. That’s ok with me.

But, sometimes we need to join. My marriage was the best join I’ve ever had. I’m not remotely afraid of being joined with him. He is my team and together we win the world.

In a team you trust you can be you. My husband lets me say my piece, even if it take me ten minutes of talking to figure out what my point really is. You don’t get that with people who aren’t on your team. At the first pause in your thought they turn away and move on, thinking, “And that… was completely irrelevant to the discussion.” and you go home, and hash over it for an hour until your thought is cleaned up and directly to the point. A scathing, sharp point that you would fling at them freely, if you’d had that thought when the talk was actually happening. But they don’t care anymore. In this instance too you can bring it to your team and they’ll listen to both your point and your frustration.  And you’ll walk away from it glad that you joined with them.

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Join

  1. I love the idea of your team hearing you out no matter how long it takes. Makes me want to be a better team player. (Found you from your comment on Julie Anne’s FMF)

  2. “and you go home, and hash over it for an hour until your thought is cleaned up and directly to the point” – Um, this is the story of my life right here. :)

Let me know what you think!

