Apple Blackberry Coffee Cake Recipe

Last night after dinner I was hit with the urge to bake a cake.  I considered using one of my pretty bundt pans but I decided that greasing and flouring all the little nooks and crannies was a bit time-consuming for an evening bake.  So, what should I bake?  I looked at my cookbook collection and grabbed down “Entenmann’s Big Book of Baking”, a Christmas gift I hadn’t tried many things out of yet.  Skimming past cookies and dessert cake and quick breads I ended up in crumb cakes.  I remembered Ben likes coffee cake(and I’ve hardly ever made it for him) and my path was set.  Blueberry crumb cake caught my eye.  I had no blueberries, but everything else was on hand.  With a bit of creative substitution I’d be ready to go.  I put the baby in his sling so he could watch me work and set to.  Here’s my version.

Apple Blackberry Coffee Cake

Batter

  • 2 C. flour
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1.5 sticks softened, unsalted butter
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 C. sour cream
  • 1/2 C. Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 C. milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp lemon(the cookbook said extract here, but in the instructions said zest.  Odd.  I used lemon juice.)
  • 1 .5 C. blackberries(I used frozen)
  • 1.5 C. apple pie filling(I used home canned)

Topping

  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 3 Tbsp softened butter
  • 1 C. flour

Preheat oven to 375.  Butter a 13×9 inch glass baking pan.  Whisk together the first seven ingredients and set aside.  Blend butter into the flour until the mixture looks like fine crumbs.  Whisk together the eggs, yogurt, sour cream, milk, vanilla and lemon juice.  Add the flour mixture and stir until just combined.  Spread half the batter into the pan.  Spread the apples in a single layer over the batter and dot with the blackberries.  Spread the remaining half of the batter over the fruit.

For the topping stir together the three ingredients until they look like coarse crumbs.  Sprinkle over the batter.

Bake until the cake is lightly golden or a toothpick tests cleanly, 40-50 minutes.  Mine took 45 minutes.  Cool 20 minutes in pan before serving.  We found it to be equally delicious warm or fully cool.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Apple Blackberry Coffee Cake Recipe

Let me know what you think!

