Countertop Hot Cocoa Bar and Cocoa Mix Recipe

Cool weather has set in around here and as always it makes me want warm drinks.  Tea is great most of the time, but sometimes I really need a nice mug of warm chocolate.  This year, rather than rummage in the pantry for the tin of cocoa mix and my twist tied bag of marshmallows every time I need some, I decided to put together a hot cocoa bar.

I had fun gathering my containers and extras and whipping up a batch of homemade cocoa mix.  I decided on cocoa mix, marshmallows and mints(to be replaced with mini candy canes once I spot them in stores) in my big jars with a couple little bottles for raspberry and caramel syrups and a salt shaker for cinnamon.  I also moved over a tower of brightly colored mugs.  Here’s what I ended up with.

And if you don’t have a favorite recipe of your own for cocoa mix, here’s what I did.

 

Hot Cocoa Mix

  • 4 C. powdered milk
  • 3 C. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 C. dry vanilla coffee creamer
  • 1 C. unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 1/2 C. grated dark chocolate
  • 1/2 Tbsp salt

Mix everything together in a big bowl and store in an airtight container.  Use to taste, about 1/3 cup for a standard sized mug.  Flavor or top as desired.  Enjoy!

 

This is yet another effort to refresh my life by doing something fun and useful.  Go here to see how others have tackled the same challenge!

2 thoughts on “Countertop Hot Cocoa Bar and Cocoa Mix Recipe

Let me know what you think!

