No-Sew Fabric Flowers Tutorial

Usually I hate the tutorials that claim to be easy or no-sew and then require some obscure bonding agent to actually accomplish, but I think this is different.  All you need is a hot glue gun(mine was just a couple bucks at Walmart) and it seriously does make the project simpler.  I’ve made the same flowers by sewing and it works, but it’s a lot faster with the glue gun.

FabFlowers01These flowers are really easy and give you a lot of impact for whatever you want them for.  I attached the pink flower above to a baby size headband for one of those fun, giant flower/little baby headbands.  I’ll sew the blue flower to a hair clip for a less over-the-top look.  Ben suggested that you could paint a tree or flower stems on a wall and then attach the big flowers for some 3D wall art.  Whatever you decide to do with them, they’re definitely fun to play with.  Here’s how I made them.

Hopefully this all makes sense to you.  Let me know if you need any more clarification and I’ll see if I can help.  I’d love a pin if you found the tutorial useful.  Thanks for reading!  :)

5 thoughts on “No-Sew Fabric Flowers Tutorial

    • Thanks for letting me know! First, if you click on the pictures they’ll get a lot bigger and that’ll help a lot. I’m looking at them and it’s a bit confusing with them small, and I’m supposed to know what I’m talking about! If that’s not enough… In the third picture of the tutorial the horizontal edge of the fabric is the fold(along the diagonal from the previous step). The point that is between my pointer and middle fingers is actually two points and it will divide, one to each side, to basically halve the angle of the far right point. The top right edge of each top point will be parallel to the horizontal edge. The fourth picture shows with just one side/wing folded down and the fifth shows both sides down. I was calling it wings and an airplane because the shape you end up with reminded me of making paper airplanes.

      Let me know if that helps! Writing tutorials is fun, but it’s so hard to take enough pictures of the right steps! Thanks again for your feedback!

      On Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 3:06 PM, On Being a Homegirl wrote:

      >

Let me know what you think!

