Stuffed Zucchini Boats Recipe

I asked Ben for ideas about what he’d like to eat for dinners this week and one of the things he mentioned, thinking of our garden, was stuffed zucchini.  I asked him what he was picturing them stuffed with since I’d never made them before and he laughed and said he didn’t really know either, tomatoes and cheese maybe?  So I searched around for ideas and came up with this combo.

We were all really impressed with this recipe.  I’m sure I could eat this every day for  quite a while.  SO yummy!  The flavors really work well together and the zucchini, which can be bland, was quite flavorful.

This is a deliciously economical meal.  Zucchini and tomatoes from the garden are nearly free and we’ll be getting two meals from a pound of sausage, which is the main expense for the recipe.  If you need your meat to stretch more you can dice another small zucchini or two to add to the filling when you add the mushrooms.  Since one of my zucchini was still small with soft seeds I chopped up the center that I’d spooned out and added that to the filling.  Some of the recipes I saw added bread crumbs.  I thought corn bread might be fun to try.  However you end up modifying it, this is what I did.

DSC06361Stuffed Zucchini Boats – Printable Recipe

  • Zucchini  – I used two homegrown, you might need four grocery store size.
  • 1 pound of sausage – I used sage seasoned
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 6 mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 cup of dry Parmesan cheese
  • a tablespoon or two of fresh herbs – I used thyme, sage and basil
  • salt and pepper
  • shredded cheese for topping

Pre-heat the oven to 350.

Cut your zucchini in half lengthwise and remove the seed center.  Place “boat” side up in a lightly buttered baking dish.

DSC06362

Set your sausage to cook in a large skillet.  Add the onion, mushrooms, herbs and additional zucchini(if desired) and cook until the meat is done and the onions are soft.  Add the Parmesan cheese and the tomatoes and cook just for a few minutes.

DSC06369 Taste for salt and pepper and correct as needed.  Spoon the filling into your zucchini boats, slightly rounded over the top, and top with shredded cheese.  I used mozzarella, yum!  If you won’t be eating most or all of this in one meal then only cook up what you’ll need and put the rest in a pan in the fridge for tomorrow.  Two meals prepared for one meals effort, my favorite!

Bake until the zucchini is fork-tender, or however you like it best.  I totally forgot to look at what time I put it in, but I it was at least 20 minutes.  Your time will vary depending on your zucchini size, probably.  You may need to put a sheet of foil loosely over the pan to keep your cheese from getting too brown.  I forgot about this step too, so our were a bit more brown than I was picturing, but still extremely good.

I definitely recommend this recipe if you have a surplus of zucchini around!  I know I’ll be making it again soon.

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Zucchini Boats Recipe

  1. Gr'ma D says:

    That’s a little different recipe than the one I have, passed down from my mother. But yours is a great alternate one Looks very good! Our family recipe goes like this: Cut zucchini lengthwise; [I’ll say 4-5 average size] and cook with small amount of water until partially done. Scoop out center, [including seeds :)] and place this in bowl. Put the zucchini boats on a pan with sides. Sprinkle the insides with salt. Chopped the centers up and let cool slightly. Add breadcrumbs [ones you make on your own are best], some garlic if you’d like; herbs of choice, salt and pepper to flavor, 1 beaten egg [that’s the reason to let the scooped out insides cool a bit]; and grated cheddar cheese. Now my mother’s recipe has no portions!, so I mostly guess. But have been doing it for so long, I could probably give estimates, if needed.! :) Mix altogether and then stuff into Z. boats. Sprinkle nicely with smoked, Hungarian paprika. Bake at 350-375 degrees F for about 30 minutes. You do need to test the Z. to see if it’s done enough to your liking, however. Yes, definitely cook enough for at least two meals. They heat up again nicely. Thanks, Amanda, for this alternate recipe to add to my collection.

Let me know what you think!

