Mercy

“Mercy – kind or forgiving treatment of someone who could be treated harshly”

No one I know is ever going to be as unkind to me as I am to myself.

I expect this is true for many people.

A grimace and sigh at looking in the mirror.

Name calling when I clatter a pot while the baby naps.

Disgust at the state of my everlastingly-behind chores.

Making things “my fault” that aren’t.

The never-ending whispers in my head of “you could dress/primp/garden/grow/eat/budget/teach/play/work/love/learn more and better”.

The “why am I doing this when I  should be playing with these babies” as they grump  while I try to accomplish.

The “I accomplished exactly nothing today”.

But.

There is a line between lambasting myself with the things I’m not and inspiring myself to find the balance of what is happy.  I think that line is called mercy.

What if –

A grimace and sigh at looking in the mirror.  “Look at your gorgeous babies, put up your hair(higher the better!), and grab some dangly earrings!”

Name calling when I clatter a pot while the baby naps.    “Hey, baby didn’t budge, happy dance and wash a couple more!”

Disgust at the state of my everlastingly-behind chores.  “50 years from now I’ll be doing the same chores.  Love those babies!”

Making things “my fault” that aren’t.  “That’s what happened this time and guess what, it worked out.”

The never-ending whispers in my head of “you could dress/primp/garden/grow/eat/budget/teach/play/work/love/learn more and better”.  “Improve two things right now.  Plan a healthy dinner, read an informative article or chapter, wrassle babies, wash two things.  Two small somethings makes stuff better.”

The “why am I doing this when I  should be playing with these babies” as they grump  while I try to accomplish.  “You’re doing it for sanity, but sanity is not improved by crying babies.  Break up the task and remember you’re not trying to fix it all at once.”

The “I accomplished exactly nothing today”.  “We read stories and learned a little and got good naps.  We went outside for a few minutes.  I guess I did something after all.”

I want to try to show myself mercy more because if God can forgive me for everything, why am I holding this stuff against myself?

Ephesians 4:32

“Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Once again inspired by Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five minute Friday word.  Click over for more about mercy!

 

3 thoughts on “Mercy

  1. Jen says:

    Amanda,
    Usually I read your posts and think about how different our lives are…and how different we must be. Today you proved that’s not true. Maybe we are at different places, with different stressors, but we all struggle with the self-hate talk that makes us susceptible to real self-loathing. Thank you for sharing how easily we can improve our moods by changing our mindset.

Let me know what you think!

