Day 5 of 31 – Being Reminded

This morning at the store the nice older gentleman at the check-out(I first wrote, “…nice older gentleman who was checking me out”, hah!) gestured to Wilona in the sling and said, “That’s the best job on earth. right there.”

As we were leaving the store another man smiled at Wilona and called out, “Don’t blink, they’re big before you know it!”

There was also the guy who asked how old she was and handed me a business card and said I should call him because he does, “Santa sittings and baby’s first Christmas picture could turn out real good”.

People(usually women and young kids) frequently comment on how cute my babies are and it’s true(Conceited?  No, I prefer the term “right”.) but these felt like much more meaningful comments than just calling them cute.  These people were all talking to me about my perception of my babies.  Even the third guy was, in not so many words, saying that he knew I’d want a great memory of my baby’s first Christmas.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last night I dreamed that I was outside somewhere and there was this young man, maybe in his young 20’s.  He was tall and lean and strong and so handsome.  His soft eyes and gentle smile were melting my heart and I was trying to figure out where I knew him from when he signed “mama” at me.  It was Ascher.  I ran into his arms, hugging him, kissing him and looking at his face between my hands and he just kept smiling and laughing with me.  Such a happy dream.  I keep getting all choked up, remembering it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Between that dream and those comments at the store I’ve been looking at my babies extra hard today.  Loving their smiles and chub and all their little things.

Being a mama is a hard job and some days I feel like I’m trying to fight myself both into and out of a wrong-fitting skin.

But I feel like God was reminding me extra hard today that I really do love my job.  That I really do want to love on my babies and enjoy my time with them.  That they are so much better than the frustrations that arise.  That He thinks my life is beautiful.

And so do I.

DSC06649

4 thoughts on “Day 5 of 31 – Being Reminded

  1. Cindy says:

    I have always thought that raising our own children, and was talking about this with Chris this morning, is of utmost importance. I love it when God encourages us through other people throughout our lives. You and Ericka are both doing a great job, even during the hard times. Hang in there!
    I miss that time in my life.

  2. Jennie C. says:

    Love this: “Being a mama is a hard job and some days I feel like I’m trying to fight myself both into and out of a wrong-fitting skin.”

    Being a Momma is the hardest thing I’ll ever do, hands down, but also the most rewarding……

    Hang in there!

Let me know what you think!

