Granola Recipe

One thing I always like to have in my pantry is a good sized box of homemade granola.  It’s yummy, healthy and totally easy to keep a big batch on hand.  The babies and I were up earlier than usual one morning so we all whipped out a batch together.

Granola helpers!

Granola helpers!

My recipe is based on this one, with, as always, a few tweaks.  Start with your dry ingredients.

your choice of dry fruit, nuts or seeds

Your choice of dry fruit, nuts or seeds

mixed into your cereals(oats and puffed rice for me)

mixed into your cereals. Mostly oats, but I like to add up to half puffed, unsweetened rice cereal to make a lighter granola.

taste for quality

Taste for quality.  Ascher thought this was the best thing ever and was in a hurry to pick all the dry fruit out before I changed my mind about letting him stir.  I didn’t.  :)

and give it a good stir.

Give it a good stir.

Heat your oil and honey together.

Heat your oil and honey together.  I absolutely recommend coconut oil.  So yummy!  I was using the last of my honey, so pardon the sugary jar.   

spread onto greased cookie sheets

Mix the oil and honey into your dry ingredients and spread onto greased cookie sheets

and bake until golden.

Bake until golden and dig in right away.

serve with milk

Serve with milk…

to a discerning test audience

to a discerning test audience.

Yum!

Yum!  He loves this!

Keep in a airtight jar or bin.  The glass jar here is just for show, I totally use the empty ice cream bucket in the background for my storage.  :)

Keep in a airtight jar or bin. The glass jar here is just for show, I totally use the empty ice cream bucket in the background for my storage. :)

Basic You-Tweak Granola Recipe –

  • Medium Batch – I routinely make twice this much.  It keeps really well, but is yummiest fresh.
  • 6 cups dry oats – replace a couple cups with some puffed rice or corn flakes for variety
  • 3 cups goodies – any combo of your favorite fruits, nuts and seeds.  Try a tropical blend(coconut, pineapple and mango) or a simple classic(walnuts, raisins and cinnamon) or a nut blend or a cranberry almond mix.  Whatever you like, be creative!
  • 1/2 cup oil – coconut is best!
  • 1/2 cup honey or maple syrup
  • Optional, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, maple flavoring, to taste

Preheat oven to 325.  Grease two cookie sheets.  Mix all your dry ingredients together.  Microwave your honey and oil together for about 90 seconds to liquefy and mix it into your dry ingredients.  Spread onto cookie sheets and bake for 13 – 18 minutes.  Store in an airtight container.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a guest post(oh my, how official I sound, haha) over on Erika’s blog.  Go have a look if you’d like to check out some of my favorite versions of fairy tales!

2 thoughts on “Granola Recipe

Let me know what you think!

