Sally Hansen® Miracle Gel™ Review

Last week Influenster sent me a product to review!  Influenster is basically a place where people can gather and tell about their interests and possibly have the chance to receive some fun new products to review.  I signed up  because I can’t resist the idea of free stuff, haha, so I was excited to accept the chance to check out the Sally Hansen® Miracle Gel™.

DSCF2899

According to the box

  • No UD/LED light needed
  • Natural-light-curing technology
  • Dries like regular nail polish
  • Increased wear and durability over time
  • Removes easily with regular nail polish remover
  • Up to 14 days of lasting gel color and brilliant shine

Directions

  • Apply 2 coats of Miracle Gel Color.
  • Activate curing with Miracle Gel Top Coat.
  • Let natural light do the rest.

Did you see the part there about a total of three coats?  I was a little nervous about that, since I wasn’t sure when I’d find time outside of naptime to get three coats on without denting or smudging them in between.  I did manage though!  The polish was nice and thick(not drippy!) but still easy to apply smoothly.  It was forgiving of an extra swipe or two and didn’t leave stripes, and it dried really quickly.  I managed to get all three coats on without mishap, except for my own klutzy nail polish skills.

Well, within about 4 hours I’d lost the tip on the color for my right hand index finger, and gotten a little dent in another nail.  I wasn’t really surprised I’d already worn some off, esp on that finger, but I was sure it was only get to get worse.  However!

Three days later the damage isn’t much worse.  There is a little bit of wear on the tip of each nail and near the cuticles, but overall it still looks fresh and shiny and gives the general impression of fully painted nails.  And the color(“Redgy”) is growing on me, which is nice since I wasn’t sure I really liked it.

DSCF2900 DSCF2903  I don’t know how much longer it will last, but at this rate I think it will staying looking reasonably nice for a bit longer.  I might repaint that one nail, on the off chance that I did it too thinly or something, but I’m pretty sure it’s just my most used finger.  You’ll notice my nail is considerably shorter there too, having been recently broken off doing something.

Anyway!  It’s a fun product idea.  If you like gel nails, would like to try doing them yourself without a UV light and don’t put your hands to more than light use it might be worth a try.  I don’t think I’ll be buying more, but I may end up trying it again another time.  Thanks Influenster for the chance to try something new!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

2 thoughts on “Sally Hansen® Miracle Gel™ Review

    • I’m liking it more and more! I thought when I saw the bottle that it was just red, but it’s more like a funny cross of pink and red and coral. Pretty cool. :)

      On Sat, Aug 16, 2014 at 9:15 AM, On Being a Homegirl wrote:

      >

Let me know what you think!

